Inspiration: the process of being mentally stimulated to do or feel something, especially to do something creative.

As I sit here with my lap-top in front of the TV, watching the NCAA basketball championships, I am reminded of how I got into this spot in my life to begin with. I grew up in the 60s and 70s, as a lot of people did, with the wonders of television. Talking was not a pastime of choice in my family, so instead of dealing with problems and issues, we escaped the awkwardness through sports, sitcoms, and the Carol Burnette Show. I equate T.V. watching with reward, relaxation and a general feeling of peace.

The problem is that even though binge watching Breaking Bad or the Gilmore Girls is very entertaining, it doesn’t often inspire me to do something meaningful with my life. And even if it did, I have already set my mundane routine into motion ….so as I pull myself up out of the crevice I have created in my couch, I find it very hard to veer off the path I have taken pretty much my entire life.

So here I am. I am inspired often, and even get comments from others about how my Facebook posts inspire them to think more about life and do great things. The problem is STAYING inspired long enough to get up and do something! I want to write a book, serve the poor, write more music, and meditate. I want to pray more, minimize my possessions and make and save more money so that I can retire early and travel.

Yet here I am, watching Kentucky trying to beat North Carolina (Go Wildcats!). And as I sit here, none of the above desires will even begin to be fulfilled. Then I will get tired, go to sleep, get up, go to work, come home tired, sit on the couch, and then….well you know what happens.  We sit on the couch and wave to our life as it passes by.

Well no more!! I am starting this blog to help me STAY inspired long enough to make my life exciting again. I’m going to write more, explore more, meditate and pray more. I’m going to think of ways to serve others, meet needs, and create beauty. And, I’m going to watch T.V. less. Mind you, there is nothing wrong with watching a little T.V. here and there. But NO ONE has gotten to the end of their life wishing they had seen the last episode of Downton Abbey (a show that I love by the way).

Yikes, I am feeling apprehensive just thinking about this change. Do I just limit T.V. time or go cold turkey? I’ll let you know. Either way, I can’t wait to discover more about myself, my loved ones, my backyard, and my neighborhood. Perhaps new dreams will finally be able to get my attention; attention that I once wasted on binge watching the Gilmore Girls. I don’t think Lorelai and Rory will miss me….

3 thoughts on “Why Stay Inspired?

  1. This sounds like a really great plan, And I so recognize your plight! I’m behind you in spirit. I remember the silly, creative mind you have and I’m looking forward to reading your blog post!! Go get em girl!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

